To Weigh or Not to Weigh

This is my first post from my phone, so bear with me 😉

I’ve been having a love hate relationship with the scale lately. My friend Yasi blogged about her experience with a scale and ever since then I’ve been wondering about my relationship with my scale. The scale is in another bathroom across the house so I don’t have to think about it much. Once I finally remember I need to weigh in, it’s after a couple cheat days and I’m usually feeling disgusting, then I get on the scale and I end up feeling worse than I did before the weigh in. Or I’ll remember at night and I truly feel that weighing in at night should be against the law, it always ends bad. The point of this battle with the scale is that I think I’m going to purchase my own and not rely on the one across the house. I’m going into this purchase realizing that this could end badly. I don’t want to weigh obsessively multiple times a day, but I do feel that I need more of a visual confirmation that my body is changing.

I feel like this part of the journey is the hardest. I’ve lost some weight and I feel like I look better so I can go two different ways with this. I can get lazy because I’ve accomplished something and slip back into old ways, or I can be diligent and keep up the good work. I’m hoping having the scale will help me attain the latter way.

What do you think about the scale? I’m I setting myself up for obsessing or could the scale be a good thing?

3 Responses

  1. Personally I’m more of an anti-scale person. I go based on how my clothes feel and fit (except when they are fresh out of the dryer!)

  2. I get on the scale every morning as part of my routine before I get dressed. It helps me gauge if I should be more ‘cautious’ with what I eat for the day or if I’m on track with my goals.

    I find weighing every day makes it less obsessive – it’s more of a reference point – but also allows for slip ups to be caught early. As well as give another indication as to when AF will show up.

    I say go for it!

  3. I’m with Chantel Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

